The Cut on My Face

The warriors came

On their horses of fire

The roar of the beast chased me

Closer,

Closer.

 

I fell, my face shattered the ground

The well was broken

Black water only flowed

From the mouth of the life-giver.

 

They caught me

Their laughter filled the air

The sun was a blood-red as I walked home.

 

I know not who they are

The soldiers, the fighters

They have left now;

But I remember

Their footfall remains in the soil

They came to my village.

 

I have a reminder

It bleeds every day as I wake.

Leave a Reply

