I Saw It

I saw it
Staring back at me
it stood
years in the making.

 

A wall.

 

The misery and death
The tortured, the wounded
The dying screams
 collected
And made a wall
Always present,
over everything, everyone
It is all there is
all I see.

 

I carry them.
Entirely our creation
We made this
The years of blackness
The tears and pain
The cries
collected.

I carry them,
in my head.

 

We made this.
Stop and stare and say:
I don’t care
Let me be.

 

Bullets pierce through silent air
Here is where life ends
The dead,
the hungry
images in news reels
Snapshots of misery.

 

Shock turns to fear turns to apathy
and finally
I don’t care
I don’t see.

 

We made this.

 

Laugh and turn your back
ignore the injustice
ignore the crime.

 

Building
It is building now
It is growing
bigger
louder.
Turn your eyes away
 leave your humanity.

 

The other side, I see it
Alive
When light will pierce through
the black of our deeds
and the eternity of our apathy
When it will end.
I see them now.

 

They’re waiting,
to be freed
For us to listen
to one day
heed the call of the
bloodstained roses.

 

It will be soon
When sunlight will gently kiss your face once more
And the tears will burn away
There,
where a smile will live
forever.

 

I saw it.
One comment

Leave a Reply

